B.A. University of Illinois-Urbana/Champaign 1992
M.F.A. Indiana University-Bloomington 1995.

Academic interests

Creative writing, 20th Century American poetry, short fiction, and creative nonfiction


General creative writing; poetry; creative nonfiction


Third Place, Wabash Watershed Indiana Poetry Awards, Urban Category, 2014;
Trustees' Teaching Awards, 2010;
Trustees' Teaching Awards, 2004;
Langsam/Oswalt Fellowship, 2003;
First Place, San Diego Writer's Cooperative Prize, 2001;
Semi-Finalist, Indiana Review 2001 Poetry Awards;
Finalist, Discovery/"The Nation" Awards, 2000;
Finalist, Glimmer Train Poetry Open, Spring 2000;
2nd Place, The James Wright Award Competition from Mid-American Review.


To the Refrigerator Gods(Seven Kitchens Press, Editor's Choice Series, 2010); Monthly restaurant reviews and articles in Indianapolis Monthly, 2007-present; weekly restaurant reviews in Nuvo Newsweekly, 2003-2007;
“The Persimmon Reader," poem Adanna (special issue, “Women and Spirituality”) (forthcoming Fall 2015); 
"Song for Saint Nicholas Day," poem St. Peter's B-list: Contemporary Poems Inspired by the Saints (Ave Maria Press, 2014);
“Vegetable Crisper.” Alimentum. Issue 13, Winter 2012; 
"The Meal We're Waiting For," poem Beer and Butter Tarts (Toronto, Canada, 2014)
"The Saintly and the Sinful: Visions of Indiana Cities," essay in Home Again: Essays and Memoirs from Indiana, Indiana Historical Society Press, 2006;
"O Miracle Whip" and "Macaroni & Cheese Survey," poems published in Gastronomica, 2003;
"Relics: Refrigerator Door" published in Another Chicago Magazine, 2002;
a poem in the anthology Food Poems, published by Bottom Dog Press, 2003;
poems forthcoming in Gents, Bad Boys, and Barbarians: This New Breed, published by Windstorm Creative;
"Today in Illiana" and "Previously Answered Questions," poems in Third Coast, Fall 1999.


Faculty Mentor; Director of Rufus & Louise Reiberg Reading series; coordinator of IUPUI Student Reading Series; preliminary judge and coordinator for annual IUPUI Poetry Contest; annual organizer of English Department Student Awards.

Website Feedback