• PhD Catholic University of Louvain (Belgium) 1991
  • MA Catholic University of Louvain (Belgium) 1984
  • BA Facultés Universitaires Saint-Louis (Brussels, Belgium) 1982 


André De Tienne came to the Peirce Edition Project at IUPUI in 1985 as a doctoral student and a visiting research associate, and volunteered much of his time to the edition for eight years. He was then hired as an Assistant Editor in 1993 and entered the tenure-track in the Philosophy Department in 1997. He grew through the ranks and became Director of the Peirce Project in 2008, and Professor of Philosophy in 2009.

Academic interests

Classical philosophy, pragmatistic philosophy, Charles S. Peirce, Josiah Royce, logic of signs, connection between phenomenology and semiotics, philosophy of text, textual editing, digital humanities.


Seminar in American Philosophy: The Idealisms of Peirce and Royce (P448/P748); The Semiotics of Charles S. Peirce (P503); Seminar on Josiah Royce’s Philosophy (P748); Peirce Seminar: Peirce's Evolutionary Philosophy (P448/P701).


  • Laureate of the Prix Daniel Coppieters de Gibson 1992;
  • Laureate of the Royal Academy of Belgium 1993;
  • Fellow of the Charles S. Peirce Society.


  • Co-editor, The Cambridge School of Pragmatism, 4 vols. (London & New York: Continuum, 2006)
  • Co-editor, The Essential Peirce (Indiana University Press 1998) and Writings of Charles S. Peirce: a chronological edition (IUP 1993–2010)
  • L'Analytique de la représentation chez Peirce (Publications des Facultés Universitaires Saint-Louis 1996) 
  • Contributions to Transactions of the Charles S. Peirce Society, TEXT--An Interdisciplinary Annual of Textual Studies, Cognitio, Recherches sémiotiques/Semiotic Inquiry, Semiotiche, S.E.E.D. Journal, The American Journal of Semiotics, and Zeitschrift für Semiotik.


Various service responsibilities for the Charles S. Peirce Society (President 2016), the Charles Peirce Foundation, the Executive Committee of the International Association for Semiotic Studies, and the Semiotic Society of America (President 2013). Editor-in-Chief, The American Journal of Semiotics.

Website Feedback