Costs & Financial Aid

The Department of Journalism and Public Relations at IUPUI offers scholarships each year. These scholarships are intended for full-time students with strong academic records and interest in professional news or public relations work. All scholarships are meant to provide recognition of student excellence in academic and journalistic pursuits.

These are available to IUPUI students:

  • Society of Professional Journalists Bettie Cadou Memorial Scholarship
    • This scholarship is endowed and awarded to maintain the memory of the contributions of Bettie Cadou, a longtime Indianapolis journalist and communicator.
      2018 winner: Nicole Smithers
  • M. William Lutholtz Memorial Scholarship
    • Bill Lutholtz was a respected journalist and public relations professional in Indianapolis. This scholarship is endowed and awarded to maintain the memory of his contributions to our profession over the many years he served.
      2018 winner: Marissa Smith
  • Patrick J. McKeand "Keep Your Nose to the Grindstone" Scholarship Award
    • McKeand served the school as the second publisher of The Sagamore. This endowed scholarship rewards excellence in contributing to student media at IUPUI. The funding for the scholarship came from the many students whose lives Pat touched through his leadership and mentoring.
      2018 winner: Breanna Cooper
  • James W. Brown Scholarship
    • The newest scholarship is in honor of retired executive associate dean of the School of Journalism at IUPUI. Jim Brown led the program for 28 years.
      2018 winner: Ryan Gregory


More information:

  • Contact Emily Turnier, director of outreach and career services, at 317-278-5322 or
  • Visit Scholarship Central, the website for the IUPUI Office of Student Scholarships.

Midwest Student Exchange Program Award

Beginning with the Fall 2016 semester, IUPUI will charge legal residents of Illinois, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota or Wisconsin no more than 150% of the in-state tuition rate. If you qualify for the Midwest Student Exchange Program Award, your tuition savings could be more than $66,000 over four years. (The average tuition for an out-of-state undergraduate is about $29,000 per academic year; with MSEP, the cost of IUPUI tuition would be approximately $12,000 per academic year. For graduate students taking 9 credit hours per semester, the savings would be $10,500 per academic year.)