Dean's Office-Who Does What

Dean's Office-Who Does What

Office of Academic Programs

The Associate Dean for Academic Programs (ADAP) leads the Office of Academic Programs.  Responsibilities for this office involves all aspects of undergraduate and graduate curriculum, including course and program changes and development; general education, major, School and IUPUI curriculum requirements; course scheduling and enrollments; course, program, and department assessment of curriculum and instruction; as well as graduate program and student oversight and support (e.g., block grants, internships, research assistantships).  In addition, the ADAP provides school leadership on the development of new majors, certificates and programs.

NameTitleEmailPhoneRoom
Marta AntónInterim Associate Dean of Academic Programs, Professor of Spanish in World Languages and Cultures, and Associate Director of the Spanish Resource Center at IUPUImanton@iupui.edu317-274-0421CA441B
Candice SmithAcademic Programs Managercanlsmit@iupui.edu317-274-8305CA441

 

 

 

Office of Development & External Affairs

The Executive Director for Advancement leads the Office of Development and External Affairs. This office is responsible for administration of School advancement efforts including fundraising, marketing and communications, media and public relations, alumni and volunteer engagement, and event planning. The staff are the key liaisons to the School of Liberal Arts with the IU Foundation, IU Alumni Association, and IU Communications. The office is the resource for Liberal Arts units regarding policies and practices for administration of philanthropic funds, alumni data and records, media outreach, communications and marketing, university brand standards, and event management. The office manages the School and unit websites; School-level social media; recruitment materials and promotional items; annual, major, and planned gift fundraising; Dean’s Advisory Council; donor relations and stewardship; and management of school-level events (such as the Celebration of Scholarship, the Joseph Taylor Symposium, the Liberal Arts Talks speaker series, the Barlow Lecture, etc.).

NameTitleEmailPhoneOffice
Liz GoodfellowExecutive Director for Advancementlgoodfel@iupui.edu317-274-1496CA436H
Sherry MintonDirector of Marketing and Communicationshminton@iupui.edu317-278-1055CA436D
Tricia O’NeilAssociate Director of Donor and Volunteer Relationspeoneil@iupui.edu317-278-1074CA436E
Lizeth QuinonesAssistant Director of Digital Medialquinone@iupui.edu317-278-1899CA436B
Madeline RichardAssistant Director of Developmentmr65@iupui.edu317-274-3185CA436C
James YoderOffice Managerjameyode@iupui.edu317-278-1839CA436F

Office of Faculty Affairs

The Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs (ADFA) leads the Office of Faculty Affairs.  Responsibilities for this office involve all aspects of faculty hiring, development, review, leaves, and awards/recognition.  In addition, the ADFA provides support to department chairs and program directors in their roles as unit heads.

NameTitleEmailPhoneOffice
Thomas UptonAssociate Dean for Faculty Affairs, Director of the Program for Intensive English and Professor of Englishtupton@iupui.edu317-274-4226CA441D
Candice SmithAcademic Programs Managercanlsmit@iupui.edu317-274-8305CA441

Office of Finance & Administration

The Assistant Dean for Finance and Administration leads the Office of Finance and Administration. This office is responsible for Budgeting, Strategic Financial Analysis and Financial Management, Payroll, Human Resources Administration, and Operations.  The Office of Finance and Administration also provides support in the training and supervision of department and program staff.

NameTitleEmailPhoneOffice
Rick HansonAssistant Dean for Finance and Admininstrationrhanson@iupui.edu274-4937CA403
Wanda ColwellFinance Affairs Assistantwsthomps@iupui.edu274-9841CA406A
Connie ElyAssistant Director of Finance and Administration cely@iupui.edu274-7124CA403
Eric HamiltonGrant Fiscal Specialist elhamilt@iupui.edu274-8207CA406A
Martha RujuwaFinance Affairs Assistant mrujuwa@iupui.edu274-2173CA406A
Ellen Van De VoordeDirector of Finance and Administrationevandevo@iupui.edu274-4953CA403A

Office of Research

The Associate Dean for Research (ADR) leads the Office of Research. The responsibilities of this office include communicating with faculty about opportunities for funding to support research and creative activity; helping faculty prepare, submit, and manage grants and contracts for all external and some internal grant programs; reporting and analyzing research funding trends within the school; working with the SLA Research Advisory Committee to review and revise research-related polices; administering the SLA Summer Research and Creative Activity Grant program; reviewing sabbatical applications from tenured/tenure-track faculty. 

NameTitleEmailPhoneOffice
Jeff WilsonAssociate Dean for Research and Professor of Geographyjeswilso@iupui.edu317-274-1128CA207B
Edith MillikanGrants Specialistemillika@iupui.edu317-278-6970CA441C
Candice SmithAcademic Programs Managercanlsmit@iupui.edu317-274-8305CA441

Office of Student Affairs

The Associate Dean for Student Affairs (ADSA) leads the Miriam Z. Langsam Office of Student Affairs. Responsibilities for this office involve all aspects of student services, including recruitment, orientation, academic advising, career development, retention and co-curricular activities, student advocacy, and degree conferral.  In addition, the ADSA manages cases of academic misconduct and provides support to faculty in such cases.

NameTitleEmailPhoneOffice
Jennifer Thorington-SpringerInterim Associate Dean for Student Affairs and Professor of Englishjtspring@iupui.edu317-278-2636CA441E

 

Advising Center (Undergraduate)

NameTitleEmailPhoneOffice
Samantha WaltersDirector of Advisingsschwade@iupui.edu317-278-2506CA401
Tanner HammockAcademic Advisortanhammo@iupui.edu317-278-7356CA401
Kim HeavrinAcademic Advisorkmatwell@iupui.edu317-278-7585CA401
Shannon KelleyAcademic Advisorkelleysl@iupui.edu317-274-8495CA401
Christopher SchumerthAcademic Advisorcnschume@iupui.edu317-274-2865CA401
Lygia VernonAcademic Advisorljvernon@iupui.edu317-274-4767CA401

 

Career Development

NameTitleEmailPhoneOffice
David HeardDirector of Career Developmentdaheard@iupui.edu317-274-8304CA243B
Symphanie BoldsAdministrative Assistant and Career Counseling Assistantboldss@iu.edu317-278-1224CA243
Gauri DronamrajuAssistant Director of Career Developmentgbajpai@iupui.edu317-274-2214CA243C
Stephanie EnyeartCareer Consultantsenyeart@iu.edu317-274-5974CA243

 

Recruitment, Retention, and Scholarships

NameTitleEmailPhoneOffice
Julie CarriereScholarship and Student Retention Coordinatorjrcarrie@iu.edu317-274-1634CA243E
Cassandra WilliamsInterim Manager for Recruitment and Retentioncw206@iupui.edu317-278-2841CA213A

 

Student Records and Information 

NameTitleEmailPhoneOffice
Tiea JulianDirector of Student Recordstmjulian@indiana.edu317-274-2200CA401
Kim CozziStudent Information Specialistkcozzi@iupui.edu317-278-7230CA243

The staff of Technical Services provides leadership and support in the use of new and emerging technology in teaching and learning in the School of Liberal Arts, including computing resources (both fixed and mobile), audio and video media production, infrastructure support for storage of personal, group and research data, and support of special School-owned technology facilities. Technical Services staff also provides liaison services with UITS and other campus agencies.

NameTitleEmailPhoneOffice
Michael ScottDirector of Technical Servicesmscott@iupui.edu317-274-2590CA001D 
Joy KramerUser Support Coordinatorjkramer@iupui.edu317-274-4790CA001B
Levi OsbornTechnical Services Coordinator and Multimedia Language Resource Center Evening Building Coordinatorglosborn@iupui.edu317-274-2518CA319A

 

Website Feedback