Tezanos-Pinto sweeps awards at Foreign Language Conference

Rosa Tezanos-PintoRosa Tezanos-Pinto

Rosa Tezanos-Pinto, associate professor of Spanish and director of the Latino Studies Program in the IU School of Liberal Arts at IUPUI, was recently honored for excellence, sweeping the teaching awards at the 2014 Indiana Foreign Language Teacher’s Association (IFLTA) Conference.

Tezanos-Pinto was selected as Indiana Teacher of the Year (Collegiate Level) and Overall Indiana Teacher of the Year (all levels). She will represent the state of Indiana at the Central States Teacher of the Year competition. She was also selected as Teacher of the Year by the Indiana Chapter of the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese.

“Dr. Tezanos-Pinto¹s career has been infused with passion for and dedication to teaching Spanish language, Latin American literature and culture, and Latino issues,” says Professor Marta Anton, chair of the Department of World Languages and Cultures. These awards represent due recognition of her stature as a teacher and her leadership in creating opportunities for graduate and undergraduate students in service learning, study abroad, and professional development for Spanish teachers in our state.”

Cristina Lozano Argüelles (Master of Arts in Teaching Spanish student and associate faculty in Spanish) also received the Edra Staffieri Scholarship for Professional Development.

A number of faculty, students, and alumni also represented the Department of World Languages and Cultures with presentations during the conference. These included Amy Bomke (Spanish Lecturer), Jessica Bonnin, Steven Borders, Heather Henning, Wendy Garringer, Andy Goodwin, Amy Grubbs, Natalie Kinsey,  Keiko Kuriyama (Japanese Lecturer), Cristina Lozano (Teaching Assistant, MAT in Spanish), Elisa Lucchi-Riester, Nancy Reyes, Marda Rose (Assistant Professor of Spanish), Theresa Vernon and Rosa Tezanos-Pinto.

The conference was held at the Sheraton at Keystone Crossing on November 6-8. The IFLTA works to “increase professional involvement among world language teachers in IFLTA’s constituent organizations” and “ensure the future of world-language instruction in Indiana.”

An IFLTA "Teacher of the Year" candidate must first be nominated by an appropriate constituent organization such as teachers’ associations dedicated to Spanish, French, German and many other languages, the Indiana Classical Conference, or the Indiana Chapter of the National Network for Early Language Learning. Constituent organizations are responsible for selecting one "Teacher of the Year" in the following categories: Collegiate, Secondary School level, Elementary or Middle School level as well as reporting their collective decisions to the IFLTA "Teacher of the Year" Committee Chair.