L. Keith Bulen Symposium on American Politics

2011 Bulen Symposium

2016 Bulen Symposium

When: Thursday, November 17, 2016, 9:00 am – 3:00 pm

Location: IUPUI Campus Center, 420 University Blvd, Room 450 AB

Cost: Free, but registration is required by Wednesday, November 14, 2016. Lunch is included for symposium registrants.

To register or for more information please contact Aaron Dusso, adusso@iupui.edu | Phone: 317.274.7387

Visitor parking is available for a fee in the Vermont Street Parking Garage. IUPUI Map

The 2016 Presidential Election: Change, Revolution, or Status Quo?
The size of the political followings of Donald Trump and Bernie Sanders surprised pundits, journalists, scholars, and political insiders. Nobody took Trump seriously when he announced his candidacy and Sanders was dismissed with no chance of stopping Hillary Clinton’s coronation as the Democratic nominee.  FiveThirtyEight.com’s Harry Enten wrote back in June of 2015 when Trump entered the Republican primary race that, "Trump has a better chance of cameoing in another ‘Home Alone’ movie with Macaulay Culkin—or playing in the NBA Finals—than winning the Republican nomination.” Obviously, he was slightly off the mark with that prediction. Like Trump, Sanders was also discounted. Prior to the Michigan Democratic primary in March, every major poll had Clinton with a big lead, which evaporated on Election Day when Sanders won. Given the success both of these campaigns had in building extremely devoted followings that shocked many longtime political overserves, what happens next?  Are these campaigns signs of fundamental change or even a revolution in the American political system? Or was it just a blip with a return to the status quo once the dust settles on the 2016 presidential campaign?

L. Keith Bulen Symposium on American Politics

2016 Schedule

9:00 am – Welcome
     Dean Thomas J. Davis

9:10 am – Presentation
     Dr. Brad Lockerbie
          Dr. Lockerbie is Professor of Political Science at East Carolina University. He is the author of Do Voters Look to the Future?Economics and Elections, published by SUNY Press. He has also co-authored numerous articles which have appeared in American Journal of Political Science, Political Research Quarterly, Public Opinion Quarterly, Public Choice, and Social Science Quarterly.

10:00 am – Media Panel
     Amber Stearns—News Editor, NUVO
     Tony Cook – Statehouse Reporter, Indianapolis Star
     Jason Fechner—Reporter, RTV6

11:00 am – Presentation
     Erika Andiola
          Erika Andiola is the former Press Secretary for Latino Outreach for Bernie 2016 and a former Congressional Staffer for Arizona Congresswoman, KyrstenSinema. She co-founder of the Dream Action Coalition and started her community organizing experience when she co-founded the Arizona Dream Act Coalition. She then served in the National Coordinating Committee and the Board of Directors for the United We Dream Network. Currently, she is the Political Outreach Director for Our Revolution, the successor organization for the Bernie 2016 campaign. Her personal struggle as an undocumented woman herself, with an undocumented family, has given her the drive and the passion to keep fighting for immigrant and human rights.

12:00 pm Lunch
     Lunch is provided for all registered attendees.

1:00 pm – Parties Panel
     John Zody – Chair, Indiana Democratic Party
     Jeff Cardwell - Chair, Indiana Republican Party

2:00 pm – Presentation
     Dr. Lonna Rae Atkeson
          Dr. Atkeson is Professor and Regents’ Lecturer in the Political Science Department at the University of New Mexico.  Dr. Atkeson research program involves a wide number of subfields within Political Science including elections, campaigns, public opinion, the media, and political psychology.  She has published numerous books including, Catastrophe Politics: Public Opinion and Extraordinary Events Redefine Perceptions of Government;Confirming Elections: Creating Confidence and Integrity through Election Auditing; and Evaluating Elections: Tools for Improvement. She is currently working on two additional book manuscripts focused on political polling.  In addition, her work has appeared in journals such as the Journal of Politics, Electoral Studies, Social Science Quarterly, Political Research Quarterly, Gender and Politics among many others.